Rules Committee

2011-2012 Annual Report to the University Senate

Introduction:

The Rules Committee (RC) is an organizing committee of the University Senate and is responsible for monitoring the "Rules of the University Faculty" and of all statutes and bylaws pertaining to the Senate. It ensures all published rules and bylaws within the Senate's purview are up to date, and initiates, receives, reviews and recommends improvements to existing rules.

RC consists of ten voting members: Six faculty members (each of whom must be a senator), three students and the secretary of the University Senate. RC traditionally works closely with key personnel in the Office of Academic Affairs and other administrative units. Individuals from these and other offices regularly attend RC meetings and provide valuable counsel, data and support.

During the 2011-2012 academic year, RC met the second and fourth Thursday of each month. The routine business of the committee includes announcement of any new requests for rule changes, updates and discussions on rule changes currently under consideration, and votes on proposed rule changes. Highlights from the committee are listed below.

Significant Rule Changes:

Rule 3335-7-03 Appointment Cap.

One of the major changes considered by RC was whether the appointment cap for regular clinical faculty applied to units within colleges or was college-wide only and whether the 40% cap was still appropriate for colleges in the health sciences cluster. After extensive discussions with deans from colleges in the health sciences and non-health sciences, as well as OAA, RC recommended a modification to the existing rule. While the modification did not remove the 40% cap in the health sciences, it did change the composition of the denominator used in its calculation such that colleges in the health sciences have the ability to hire more regular clinical faculty. The modification kept the 20% cap and current denominator for calculating that percentage for non-heath science colleges and made the appointment cap for regular clinical track faculty applicable at the college-wide level for all colleges. The modification was passed by University Senate.

Rule 3335-6-02(A) Criteria for appointment, reappointment, and promotion and tenure of tenure track faculty.

Although teaching is considered central to the mission of The Ohio State University and a key factor in the promotion and tenure of tenure track faculty, teaching was not defined within the rules. Accordingly, RC was asked by OAA if it would provide such a definition. The result was a rewriting of 3335-6-02(A) such that teaching, research, and service were clearly identified and defined. The rule change was passed by University Senate.

Other Rule Changes:

RC recommended to the Senate improvements in the following faculty rules:

- 3335-6-01 (B) General Considerations appointment, reappointment, promotion, and tenure shall be free of discrimination consistent with the protected statuses covered in the university nondiscrimination policies.
- 3335-5-48.11 Fiscal Committee a clarification of its duties and responsibilities.
- 3335-3-20 Assistant vice president of undergraduate admissions and first year experience – changed title to Vice President for Strategic Enrollment Planning.
- 3334-3-30.1 Dean for undergraduate studies for arts and sciences changed title to Dean for Undergraduate Education.
- 3335-5-08 Absence from duty removed coordinating dean for regional campus from approval process for regional campus faculty requesting leave.
- 3335-5-48.9 Committee on academic freedom and responsibility change in composition of committee and definition of quorum.
- 3335-11-09 The Ohio Union Council change in structure and composition of the Ohio Union Council.
- 3335-11-10 University Recreational Sports Committee change in structure and composition of the Recreational Sports Committee.

RC also considered and recommended revisions to the Code of Student Conduct.

Rules Under Consideration

RC sent forward several rule changes still under consideration to be addressed during the 2012-13 year.

Respectfully submitted, Jeffrey Ford, Ph.D. Chair, 2011-12 Rules Committee