University Senate

3335-5-37 Membership.

There shall be a university senate, a unicameral body constituted as follows:

(A) Voting members: the voting members of the senate (throughout this document the word "senate" shall be taken to mean the university senate) shall consist of:

Twenty-<u>six-four</u> administration members Seventy<u>-one</u> faculty members Forty-one student members, consisting of twenty-six undergraduate, ten graduate, and five professional student members. <u>Five staff members.</u>

Any change in the number of members representing one of three primary categories shall necessitate an adjustment in the total membership in order to maintain to the nearest percentage the ratio of these numbers.

(B) Non-voting members: senate members not entitled to vote on the floor of the senate, but otherwise to participate in all senate deliberations, shall include the chair of faculty council (if not a member of the senate), <u>senate committee chairs (if not members of the senate)</u>, the president of the alumni association, the secretary of the university senate; the president of the undergraduate student government, the president of the council of graduate students, and the president of the inter-professional council, and the chair of the university staff advisory committee.

(Board approval dates: 7/7/1972, 6/14/1974, 7/9/1976, 7/22/1977, 7/20/1979, 2/3/1984, 2/7/1986, 2/1/1991, 4/7/1995, 5/3/1996, 8/1/1997, 12/4/1998, 4/6/1999, 7/7/2000, 5/6/2005, 5/14/2010, 6/5/2015)

3335-5-38 -Terms of office.

(A) Ex officio members serve by virtue of their position and shall have no fixed term of office.

(B) Faculty members shall serve three-year terms, with one-third being elected each year; they shall be ineligible for one year for reelection after two consecutive terms of service.

(C) Student members shall serve one-year terms and be eligible for reelection.

(D) Staff members shall serve two-year terms; they shall be ineligible for one year for reelection after two consecutive terms of service.

(Board approval dates: 7/7/1972, 7/9/1976, 7/22/1977, 4/4/2008, 6/5/2009)

3335-17-01 Administration members.

The twenty-<u>six-four</u> members from the administration shall consist of the university president, the executive vice president and provost, the senior vice president for business and finance, the <u>senior</u> vice president for research, the <u>senior</u> vice president for student life, <u>the executive dean of the college of</u> arts and sciences, the deans of the <u>other thirteen fifteen</u> colleges, the executive dean for the regional campuses, the dean of the graduate school, the dean for undergraduate education, <u>and</u> the director of libraries, and the three divisional deans of the college of arts and sciences.

3335-17-02 Elections.

The faculty, <u>staff</u>, professional student, graduate student, and undergraduate student members and alternates of the university senate shall be chosen in the manner prescribed by the appropriate constituency as defined in rule 3335-17-03 of the Administrative Code. All terms of service shall begin in the autumn semester following election.

Senate revision dates: 9/29/1984, 12/2/1989

3335-17-03 Administration and supervision of elections.

The primary responsibility for administering and supervising senate elections shall reside with the faculty council, for the election of faculty members of the senate; council of graduate students, for the election of graduate student members; inter-professional council, for the election of professional student members; and undergraduate student government, for the election of undergraduate student members; and university staff advisory committee, for the election of non-bargaining staff members. Each group shall:

3335-17-04 Apportionment of faculty members.

(A) Seventy<u>-one</u> faculty members shall be apportioned as follows: at least one to represent each of the following faculty constituencies:

College of arts and sciences: division of arts and humanities

College of arts and sciences: division of natural and mathematical sciences

College of arts and sciences: division of social and behavioral sciences

College of food, agricultural, and environmental sciences

The Max M. Fisher College of business, the Max M. Fisher College of dentistry College of education and human ecology College of engineering The Michael E. Moritz College of law College of medicine College of nursing College of optometry College of pharmacy

The John Glenn school <u>College</u> of public affairs

College of public health

College of social work

College of veterinary medicine

OSU Lima campus

OSU Mansfield Campus

OSU Marion Campus

OSU Newark Campus

University libraries

Departments of military science, naval science, and air force aerospace studies

3335-17-07.5 Apportionment of staff members

(A) Five staff members from different campus units shall be selected by university staff advisory council in accordance with its bylaws.

(B) Non-bargaining unit staff members will be eligible to apply for selection to the five senate positions.

3335-17-08 Qualifications for membership.

- (A) To be eligible for service as members of the university senate:
 - 1. Faculty members shall be on the roster of the tenure-track faculty, or on the roster of a college or unit's clinical track faculty who are authorized for senate service pursuant to rule 3335-7-11 of the Administrative Code, and available for senate service autumn and spring semesters during their elected terms.
 - 1.2.Staff members shall be on the roster of a college or unit and available for senate service autumn and spring semesters of their elected terms.
 - 2.3. Graduate, professional and undergraduate student members shall be in good standing and enrolled each semester.
 - 4. Faculty, <u>staff</u>, professional and undergraduate student members shall, at all times including the time of election, be members of the constituency which they were elected to represent. The graduate student senators shall be deemed to represent all graduate students.
 - 3.5.Faculty or staff that assume an administrative title containing dean, provost, or president during the academic year shall not continue to represent faculty or staff into the next academic year.
- (B) No person shall represent one constituency while serving as a representative of another.
- (C) The requirements for alternate members shall be the same as for members.

Senate adoption date: 6/4/1977; Senate revision dates: 4/29/1978, 2/9/1980, 1/26/1985, 5/13/2004

(Board approval dates: 6/4/2004, 6/6/2008, 6/6/2014)