The Ohio State University University Libraries

Thompson Library 1858 Neil Avenue Mall Columbus, OH 43210

614-292-6785 Phone 614-123-4567 Fax

osu.edu



THE OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY

Dr. Ben Givens, Secretary University Senate 119 Independence Hall 1923 Neil Avenue Columbus, OH 43210

Dear Ben,

Please accept this communication as the Senate's Committee on Honorary Degrees 2017-2018 report. This past year the committee was comprised of the following members: José O. Díaz (Chair), Clark Larsen, William Marras (2021), Herbert Ockerman (2021), Randy Nelson (2020), Julia Andrews (2019), and Ann Allen (2018).

The Committee's docket included six nominations. It approved three and is currently waiting for documentation for the remaining three. The status of our grantees/nominees is as follows:

- The committee approved the nomination of Professor Dr. *Atul Gawande, Dr. Carla Hayden,* Librarian of Congress and scientist, writer, and Buddhist monk *Matthieu Ricart* (Conferral pending for all of them).
- Three additional nominations now await for supporting documentation before the committee reaches a final decision.
- Although the committee did not act on these recommendations, it considered a reduction in the number of supporting letters for nominees (four instead of seven). It also considered the creation of an online form, available via the Senate's webpage, to facilitate the submission of nominations. These changes could lead to an increased number of nominations and a more agile process. The next Committee Chair could consider these changes.

If you have any additional questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Warmest regards,

José O. Díaz



Jose O. Diaz, Ph.D. Professor Head, Area Studies The Ohio State University Thompson Library 321B 1858 Neil Avenue Mall Columbus, Ohio 43210 Diaz.6@osu.edu 614-688-4649