The Ohio State University University Libraries

Thompson Library 1858 Neil Avenue Mall Columbus, OH 43210

614-292-6785 Phone 614-123-4567 Fax

osu.edu



Dr. Tim Gerber, Secretary University Senate 119 Independence Hall 1923 Neil Avenue Columbus, OH 43210

Dear Tim,

Please accept this communication as the Senate's Committee on Honorary Degrees 2016-2017 report. This past year the committee was comprised of the following members: José O. Díaz (Chair), William Marras (2021), Neil Ockerman (2021), Neil Tennant (2020), Randy Nelson (2020), Julia Andrews (2019), and Ann Allen (2018).

The Committee's docket included ten nominations. It approved three, is currently vetting five, rejected one, and one was withdrawn. The status of our grantees/nominees is as follows:

- Professor Robert P. Moses received an honorary degree during the December 2016 commencement
- Professor *Leonard Susskind* has informed the University that he will accept the degree (conferral pending).
- The committee approved the nomination of *Marian Wright Edelman*. Its chair sent the required letter of transmittal to the Senate's office on *February 2*, 2017.
- Five additional nominations now wait for supporting documentation before a final decision is made.
- The committee declined to move forward a nomination and a nominator withdrew a proposed one.

If you have any additional questions please do not hesitate to contact me.

Warmest regards,

José O. Díaz

Jose O. Diaz, Ph.D.

THE OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY

Associate Professor Head of Area Studies The Ohio State University Thompson Library 321B 1858 Neil Avenue Mall Columbus, Ohio 43210 Diaz.6@osu.edu 614-688-4649