Final Report of the Honorary Degrees Committee Academic Year 2015-2016

During the academic year covered by this report the Senate's <u>Honorary Degrees</u>, in accordance to its guidelines, consisted of seven tenured faculty members: Sheik Akbar, Ann Allen, Julia Andrews, José Díaz, Terry Gustafson, Randy Nelson, and Neil Tennant.

The committee conducted its business via email as nominations and other required paperwork is received by the committee's chair in that manner. The procedure for nomination continued as in previous years: a letter of exhortation to all faculty members early in the fall requesting nominations, and full nominations accompanied by a letter/CV and followed by three outside letters from outside, three inside letters, and one letter from the Dean.

During the concluding academic year the committee received a total of 14 nominations. The demographics of the nomination included 10 white males, one white female, and three African-Americans (one female and two males).

The committee rejected four nominations, allowed seven to move forward, and has taken no action (due to lack of proper documentation) on three nominations.

Of the seven nominees that reached the second stage of the process five have not received enough documentation for the committee to cast a vote. They have not been officially withdrawn therefore, they remain pending/ active.

Two nominations moved forward and received senate approval:

- Robert P. Moses
- Leonard Susskind

The committee chair sent letters of transmittal to the Senate's Office on February 10, 2016.

Respectfully submitted,

José O. Díaz. Ph.D.