



632 Mathematics Tower 231 West 18th Avenue Columbus, OH 43210-1174

> 614-292-8678 Phone 614-292-1479 Fax

cogdell@math.osu.edu

Memorandum

24 April 2024

To: Ohio State University Senate

From: Senate Committee on Honorary Degrees

Jim Cogdell, Chair, 2023-2024

Subject: Year-End Report on Committee Activities

This memorandum summarizes the activities of the Senate Committee on Honorary Degrees for the 2023-2024 academic year.

This past year the committee was composed of the following members: Hamdy Awad (2028); James Cogdell (2024, Chair); Pelagia Gouma (2026); Joseph Heremans (2026); Koritha Mitchell (2026); Bruce McPheron (2027); and Ashley Lopez (2028). James Cogdell, Koritha Mitchell, and Bruce McPheron should complete their service this year.

We tried to meet in person this term, but finding a meeting time was impossible. Thus we opted to meet online. Votes were taken in Committee, although all decisions were unanimous.

We had three nominations for which we got the full package of nomination materials:

- Elizabeth Lawanga King, nominated for an Honorary Degree in Public Service by Ms. Rosette Serwanga. This nomination was sent to the Senate on November 15, 2023.
- LeBron James, nominated for an Honorary Degree in Public Service by Ben Givens, Secretary of the Senate, and Megan Ferguson. This nomination was sent to the Senate on February 20, 2024.
- David Grann, nominated for an Honorary Degree in Public Service by Benjamin Hoffmann. This nomination was sent to the Senate on April 8, 2024.

THE OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY

We also have the following candidates who are in the process of getting full nomination packets. We will take these up in the Autumn term.

• La June Tabron (who has a full packet of letters), nominated for an Honorary Degree in Public Service by Catherine A. Kress, Dean of the College of Food, Agriculture, and Environmental Sciences.

We had the following nominations that we turned down:

- Kieth Richenbacher, nominated for an Honorary Degree by Lily Guerrero. A letter was sent to Ms. Guerrero explaining the situation.
- Robert C. Hendricks, nominated for an Honorary Degree by his daughter, Susan Hendricks DeWitt. A letter was sent to Ms. DeWitt explaining the situation.

My plan is to rotate off the committee, but I would like to continue another year. Jos Heremans will be chair next year.

Respectfully submitted,

Chair, 2023-2024

James W Coydell,