University News — October 3, 2018

Faculty Council Statement on Abuse

In response to the media attention on Ohio State surrounding issues of domestic abuse and sexual misconduct, the Faculty Council, at their September 6 meeting, initiated a writing group to capture the concerns of faculty and to draft a statement condemning abuse. The writing committee consisted of senators Rachel Bowen (Chair), Jeanine Thompson, Colette Dollarhide, Terry Esper, Kevin Cullen, Curt Haugtvedt, Amy Darragh and Ken Lee. By electronic vote, Faculty Council approved the faculty statement by a vote of 50-2. This statement was released to the press, which was picked up and published in an article in Inside Higher Ed. At the September 20 meeting of the University Senate, the statement was announce by the writing committee. Follow up communication about this statement should be directed to the chair of Faculty Council, Mike Hogan or the chair of the writing group, Rachel Bowen.