Faculty Compensation and Benefits Committee (FCBC) Committee Page

Faculty Compensation and Benefits Committee (FCBC)

Each year the Faculty Compensation and Benefits Committee (FCBC) publishes a report that compares the salary data of Ohio State's faculty to that of faculty at peer institutions in the B1G and AAU. In addition, the committee studies data within the university, looking broadly at diversity across initiatives and colleges. FCBC also monitors any university hiring or budgetary decisions that impact faculty lines. The committee's annual report contains recommendations for addressing concerns.


2019-2020 Chair

Stephanie Schulte

Committee Members

Member Source Term Expires
Dana Renga Faculty Council 2022
Chris Zirkle Faculty Council 2022
Mike Hogan Faculty Council 2022
John Opfer Faculty Council 2022
Smita Mathur Faculty Council 2021
Corinne Reczek Faculty Council 2021
Julia White Faculty Council 2021
John Maharry Faculty Council 2020
Stephanie Schulte Faculty Council 2020
Stephanie Seveau Faculty Council 2020
Simone Drake Faculty Council 2020
Nicholas Basta Faculty Council 2020
Harold Moellering Retiree, Presidential 2021
Helen Malone Provost / Designee
Susan Basso AVP OHR / Designee

Rule 3335-5-48.12 Faculty Compensation and Benefits Committee

The faculty compensation and benefits committee shall consist of fifteen members.

  1. Twelve faculty, at least two of whom are members of the senate.
  2. Two administrators.
    1. The executive vice president and provost, or designee.
    2. The vice president for human resources, or designee.
  3. An emeritus member from the tenure-track faculty appointed annually by the president in consultation with the Ohio state university retirees association.
  4. Additional non-voting members and consultants from the university, serving at the discretion of the voting members of the committee.

Study the adequacy and other attributes of the university's policies and provisions for:

  1. Salaries, outside professional services and supplemental compensation;
  2. Retirement benefits, hospitalization and medical insurance and other health benefits, life insurance, other insurance, travel reimbursement, educational benefits, recreational benefits, and other perquisites, benefits, and conditions of faculty employment.
  1. The committee shall designate two standing subcommittees to concentrate, respectively, on:
    1. Faculty salaries and related matters;
    2. Faculty benefits.
  2. As a standing committee of the senate, this committee is also governed by the provisions of rules 3335-5-46 and 3335-5-48 of the Administrative Code.

(Board approval dates: 5/1/1986, 2/5/1988, 11/2/1990, 7/12/1991, 2/4/1993, 11/4/1994, 4/4/1997, 12/4/1998, 6/7/2005, 2/1/2013, 6/6/2014, 5/31/2019)