Academic Misconduct

The Committee on Academic Misconduct (COAM) is a pool of faculty and students from which small panels are drawn to hear cases of alleged academic misconduct. When a panel determines that academic misconduct has occurred, they decide on the appropriate sanction. The committee as a whole considers the broader issues of academic misconduct and provides feedback to instructors and departments about best practices and policies.


2019-2020 Chair

Trish Van Zandt

Committee Members

Member Source Term Expires
Barbara Warren Faculty Council 2022
Robert Boyd Faculty Council 2022
Celia Wills Faculty Council 2022
Ruth Lowery Faculty Council 2022
Jennifer Whetstone Faculty Council 2022
Rajendar Deora Faculty Council 2022
Scott Graves Faculty Council 2022
Zhiguo Xie Faculty Council 2022
Subbu Kumarappan Faculty Council 2022
Naduparambil Jacob Faculty Council 2021
Jessica Page Faculty Council 2021
Narasimham Parinandi Faculty Council 2021
Ouliana Ziouzenkova Faculty Council 2020
Jacqueline Gargus Faculty Council 2020
Heidi Shull Faculty Council 2020
Julie Robbins Faculty Council 2020
Deborah Grzybowski Faculty Council 2020
James Rathman Faculty Council 2020
Trish Van Zandt Faculty Council 2020
Jay Wellman Faculty Council 2020
Mark Polifroni Faculty Council 2020
Betty Lise Anderson Faculty Council 2020
Dodie McDow Faculty Council 2020
Mira Katz Faculty Council 2020
Michael Izzo USG 2020
Christopher O'Neil USG 2020
Madeline Perry USG 2020
Nathan Schumacher USG 2020
Chris Weller USG 2020
Jacob Chang USG 2020
Brandon Bishop USG 2020
Natalie Thomas USG 2020
Rahul Kumar USG 2020
Rhea Pai USG 2020
Sundeep Siripurapu CGS 2020
Katherine Conner CGS 2020
Jennifer Perkins CGS 2020
Kevin Ingles CGS 2020
Jessica Blackburn CGS 2020
Audrey Hungerpiller CGS 2020
Jahmour Givans CGS 2020
Piao Yang CGS 2020
Paul Consiglio CGS 2020
Min-Seok Choi CGS 2020
D'Andra Mull VP OSL Designee
Jay Hobgood Provost Appointee

Rules / Responsibilities

The committee on academic misconduct shall consist of forty-six members.

  1. Twenty-four faculty. Faculty members are eligible for reappointment, but may not serve more than two consecutive terms.
  2. Twenty students.
    1. Ten graduate students.
    2. Ten undergraduate students. The term of service shall begin with the summer term.
  3. Two administrators.
    1. The vice president of student life or designee, non-voting.
    2. A coordinator, appointed by the executive vice president and provost, who shall not participate in the decisions of the committee.
  4. Alternate members.

Faculty and students who have been regular members of the committee during the previous three years shall be eligible to be alternate members, providing they remain at the university in their same category.

  1. Investigate or establish procedures for the investigation of all reported cases of student academic misconduct, with the exception of cases in a professional college having a published honor code, and decide upon suitable disciplinary action. (The term "academic misconduct" is defined in paragraph (A) of rule 3335-23-04 of the Administrative Code.) Instructors shall report all instances of alleged academic misconduct to the committee.
  2. Investigate all cases of lax or irregular methods of conducting examinations that might tend to promote academic misconduct on the part of students, with the exception of cases in a professional college having a published honor code. The committee shall report its findings in these cases to the executive vice president and provost.
  3. Serve as a consultant on questions of academic misconduct for any professional college having a published honor code. (Note: this committee shall not have jurisdiction over cases involving student academic misconduct in professional colleges having published honor codes. These colleges shall follow their own codes in investigating reported cases of academic misconduct and in determining suitable disciplinary action. When the action taken involves suspension, dismissal, or entry on the student's permanent record, a recommendation to that effect shall be made to the executive vice president and provost for review and action.)
  1. The committee on academic misconduct is authorized to:
    1. Establish panels of its members which will conduct hearings and make decisions with the same authority as the committee itself;
    2. Establish rules and procedures to conduct hearings, including the definition of a quorum.
  2. If the caseload of the committee should from time to time become such that cases cannot be set for hearing within four weeks (excluding periods of examinations or between vacations and recesses between semesters, terms, or sessions), the chair shall be empowered to ask alternate members to serve voluntarily and temporarily as members of hearing panels.
  3. As a standing committee of the senate, this committee is also governed by the provisions of rules 3335-5-46 and 3335-5-48 of the Administrative Code.

(Board approval dates: 5/1/1986, 2/5/1988, 11/2/1990, 7/12/1991, 2/4/1993, 11/4/1994, 5/3/1996, 4/4/1997, 4/3/1998, 6/1/2001, 6/7/2005, 5/14/2010, 6/6/2014, 4/7/2017, 5/31/2019)